• (+63 2) 7719295 / 7897700 local 7920 or 7921
  • Mon-Sat: 9am - 6pm

Dental experts here for APDC 2011 preparations

Dr. Hermogenes Villareal, chairman of the 33rd Asia Pacific Dental Congress (APDC) 2011, has announced that as part of the final stages for the three-year congress preparations, top world dental figures Dr. Pasad Amaratunga and Dr. Oliver Hennedige, president and secretary-general, respectively, of the Asia Pacific Dental Federation (APDF) composed of 28 member-nations, are due to arrive in the country today for a two-day final visit and inspection of the congress site and to discuss with the local organizing committee the final preparations for the congress.

To be held on May 1-6 at the Philippine International Convention Center, the congress, the biggest gathering of dentists from the whole Asia-Pacific region and neighboring countries, boasts of an impressive line-up of 41 confirmed lecturers prepared by the Scientific Committee, 36 of whom are foreign and five are local speakers who are top-caliber experts in their own fields of specialization.

The event is unprecedented among all APDC congresses since it will consist of multi-specialty experts in the following field: nine on Restorative Dentistry / Preventive Dentistry / Dental Materials; six on Implantology; five on Prosthodontics; five on Oral Surgery and Oral Diagnosis; four on Endodontics; four on Cardiology, Cosmetic Surgery, Endocrinology, and Ophthalmology; three on Periodontology; three on Pediatric Dentistry; two on Oral Pathology; and two on Dental Materials.

There will also be poster presentations of dentists from different countries.

A whole-day pre-congress lecture by Dr. Jeffrey Okeson, a world-renowned author of the sixth edition of “The Management of Temporomandibular Disorders and Occlusion” will be held on May 1 to kick off the Scientific Sessions.

The Dental Trade Exhibition will showcase the latest trends in dental technology with 200 booths confirmed from international and dental trade exhibitors.

Part of this event will be the signing of the memorandum of understanding between the APDF represented by Amaratunga and Hennedige, the 33rd APDC Organizing Committee headed by its general chairman Dr. Hermogenes Villareal, and the Philippine Dental Association represented by its president, Dr. Robert Tajonera.

For congress details, contact the APDC 2011 Secretariat at 809-9229, telefax 659-1509, congress@apdc2011.org, ladejesus53@yahoo.com, www.apdc2011.org. Also contact Dr. Elizabeth Carrasco, APDC 2011 executive secretary at 219-5120 or 09158129917.

Copyright © 2019 Villareal Dental Clinic Inc. All Rights Reserved.